Therma CUTS

From Spamwiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Description

Therma CUTS arrived on the scene in June 2007. It shares similar fraudulent claims with Canadian Pharmacy, including the falsified images for "PharmaChecker" instead of the genuine "Pharmacy Checker" and "ADA" instead of the genuine "APA" logo.

Visitors to these sites are cautioned against placing an unsecure order for any of the products advertized. With so much obvious fraud in the setup of the web site, any reasonable person would be justified in having doubts about passing identity and credit card details to such blatant fraudsters.

Therma CUTS, June, 2007
Therma CUTS, June, 2007
False claims, June, 2007
False claims, June, 2007

[edit] False Claims

[edit] False: Claims to have "Pharma Checker" approval

The fraud continues. Both sites pretend to be authenticated by Pharmacy Checker - which they are not. So they set up a link to a fake Pharma Checker instead of the genuine Pharmacy Checker. Notice the fake logos on the left, compared with the genuine ones on the right.

image:Pharma_Checker_logo.jpg image:Pharmacy_Checker_logo.jpg
The fake logo - Pharma Checker The genuine logo - Pharmacy Checker
. .
. .
image:Pharma_Checker.jpg image:Pharmacy_Checker.jpg
The fake seal - Pharma Checker The genuine seal - Pharmacy Checker


Pharmacy Checker response


We do not endorse this company and they are not affiliated with PharmacyChecker.com in any manner.
The PharmacyChecker.com seal that they publish (“Pharma Checker”) is an unauthorized and adulterated copy.

Donna Miller, Customer Services


[edit] False: Claims to have "ADA" approval

The link to the American Drug Administration is also served by this fraud site itself. A Google search for "American Drug Administration" turns up only links to this scammer's sites. There appears to be no such entity, except as defined by this fraudster. In fact, it is an attempt to make it look as if the site has FDA approval. The ADA logo is a reworked version of the FDA Centennial 1906 - 2006 logo.

At the bottom is the name of the representative, Kris Thorkelson, Vancouver. Likewise he is referenced in the link to the "PharmaChecker" site, again served locally. Kris is a real person, with the right credentials, but he is not amused to find that his identity has been stolen in this way. He writes:

This is one of many web sites created by a group that has been doing a large amount of spamming. 
They copied my information and have been using it without my consent. I have no idea who they
are but as you can see all of their credentials are fake.
 
Good luck in finding out more about these people.

Kris Thorkelson
CEO of the CanadaDrugs.com Group of Companies

A comparison of the fake ADA logo and the genuine FDA logo shows the fraud for all to see.

Comparison
Banner Logo
Fakes image:ADA_banner.jpg
Genuine image:FDA_banner.jpg image:FDA_Centennnial.jpg



[edit] False: Claims to be secure

The trailer shows a "GeoTrust Quick SSL" logo. Users would expect that the site has an SSL encryption SSL certificate, which would enable secure transmission of sensitive information. That is the purpose of displaying the SSL logo.

At checkout, the site transfers you to www.active-bill.com, a web site registered with Xin Net. This web page is headed

Active Bill
Secure transaction

The web page uses http' and not https - revealing that the user is entering personal details and credit card information over a non-secure link. This shows that yet another claim is fraudulent.


[edit] Sample Sites

  • healthpreparation.com
  • bestpreparation.com
  • extracomponent.com

[edit] Sponsoring Registrar

Looking up the registrar for a sample domain name reveals that the domain and its name servers are registered under a contract with Xin Net, a company that has long since gone into liquidation, and yet retains ICANN accreditation.

[edit] How to report this spam

The Complainterator is configured to request removal of these fraudulent sites. Add a link to this page as evidence.

Personal tools