Cheap OEM Software

From Spamwiki

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Description

This site appears to be selling software at prices that indicate an obvious piracy operation:

Website Sample
Website Sample

At the time this article was originally written, (July 2009) a whois lookup for a sample domain PROPRIETARYSOFTWAREDOWNLOAD.COM yielded the following

Domain Name: PROPRIETARYSOFTWAREDOWNLOAD.COM
Registrar: ONLINENIC, INC.
Name Server: NS1.GREENZMIY.COM
Name Server: NS2.GREENZMIY.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 13-jul-2009
Creation Date: 13-jul-2009

The registrant shows up as

        name: Alex Notkins
mail: alex@softwarebudget.net tel: +1.9120192873
        org: N/A

address: 3617 Santana Beach
        city: Miami
,province: Florida
,country: US
 postcode: 10938

(That postal code is not a valid zip code for any location in the US, the phone number (912) 019-2873 could not exist because 019- is not a valid US local prefix, and the US Postal Service report that there is no 3617 Santana Beach in Miami, FL.)

[edit] Name servers

One name server domain is evaluated at McAfee SiteAdvisor reviews

http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/GREENZMIY.COM

Another name server domain is encatgpc.com.

It also appears in McAfee Site Advisor reviews

http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/encatgpc.com/

Some examples found on the spam trap report at http://rss.uribl.com/ns/encatgpc_com.html

#1	duperpurchase.com	Mon, 20 Jul 2009 20:55:09 +0000
#2	aboutsuperbuy.com	Mon, 20 Jul 2009 20:10:28 +0000
#3	aboutsafebuy.com	Mon, 20 Jul 2009 11:27:37 +0000
#4	abouthelpnet.com	Mon, 20 Jul 2009 11:15:05 +0000

The registrant for this encatgpc.com domain is shown with the same bogus address

Administrator:
        Name-- Alex Notkins
EMail-: (dns@encatgpc.com)
tel --: +1.9120192873
        org: N/A
        3617 Santana Beach
        Miami,Florida,US 10938

As above, the dirty IP addresses are the same -

  • NS1.ENCATGPC.COM has address 211.244.22.30
  • NS2.ENCATGPC.COM has address 222.179.185.89

[edit] Sample spammed pirate sites

From July 2009, all registered with OnlineNic

  • architecturesoftwaredownload.com
  • biblesoftwaredownload.com
  • earthsoftwaredownload.com
  • extrasoftwaredownload.com
  • forumsoftwaredownload.com
  • platformsoftwaredownload.com
  • playersoftwaredownload.com
  • proprietarysoftwaredownload.com
  • softwaredownloadaudio.com
  • softwaredownloadcharts.com
  • softwaredownloadcounts.com
  • softwaredownloadintel.com
  • softwaredownloadmicrosoft.com
  • softwaredownloadreleases.com
  • softwarelabhome.com
  • softwaretitledownload.com
  • softwarevideodownload.com
  • titlesoftwaredownload.com
  • serversoftwaredownload.com

[edit] Sample of website features

The footer of the website has a Copyright notice for "Online Store"

image:Cheap_OEM_Software.trailer.jpg

At Check-out, the site uses a security certificate issued by Equifax to orders.gsecuresystem.com where -

 Domain Name: GSECURESYSTEM.COM
 Registrar: ONLINENIC, INC.
 Name Server: NS1.DNS-DIY.NET
 Name Server: NS2.DNS-DIY.NET
 Status: ok
 Updated Date: 26-feb-2009
 Creation Date: 26-feb-2009

Administrator:
        Name-- Alex Notkins
EMail-: (an_gurkin78@mail.ru)
tel --: +1.9120192873
        org: N/A
        3617 Santana Beach
        Miami,Florida,US 10938

As mentioned above, this is a totally bogus address. Apparently this resident of Santana Beach, Miami, Florida has an email provider in Russia!

[edit] False Pretenses

The certificates on the site are all fake. Each icon has no link to the site to allow anyone to verify them, and they have no presence on the Better Busines Bureaue.


There are several major software vendors whose products are being pirated and sold at an "80% discount".

[edit] Recent registrations

The list of sites using the same name server, many for the same piracy operation, is found at http://rss.uribl.com/ns/greenzmiy_com.html A snapshot:

# 	Domain 	                              Date/Time Added
#1	softwaredownloadcharts.com	      Sat, 18 Jul 2009 14:08:54 +0000
#2	softwaredownloadaudio.com	      Sat, 18 Jul 2009 13:50:11 +0000
#3	softwaredownloadintel.com	      Sat, 18 Jul 2009 05:43:10 +0000
#4	biblesoftwaredownload.com	      Fri, 17 Jul 2009 23:37:23 +0000
#5	playersoftwaredownload.com	      Fri, 17 Jul 2009 14:43:29 +0000
#6	architecturesoftwaredownload.com      Thu, 16 Jul 2009 19:37:03 +0000
#7	notablesoftwaredownload.com	      Thu, 16 Jul 2009 17:48:35 +0000

URIBL spam-trap listing for Net-Chinese

100.00% - 47 of 47 active domains appearing in email which are registered at NET-CHINESE CO., LTD. are Listed by URIBL in the last 5 days.

#1	instantweblow.com	Tue, 27 Apr 2010 01:15:23 +0000
#2	greatspicygetnow.com	Tue, 27 Apr 2010 00:55:23 +0000
#3	accelerationwebminimum.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 11:09:49 +0000
#4	besttradetopsoft.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 11:03:20 +0000
#5	lowspeedgenerator.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 10:25:58 +0000
#6	lowspeedcollisions.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 10:22:55 +0000
#7	lowspeedalternator.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 08:56:18 +0000
#8	getnowsite.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 08:54:33 +0000
#9	lowspeedfinishes.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 08:24:55 +0000
#10	lowspeedfinish.com	Mon, 26 Apr 2010 07:59:25 +0000

[edit] Sponsoring Registrars

Registrars who sponsor these crimes by providing registration services under contract to these criminals include

  • Onlinenic
  • Net-Chinese.com.tw

NET-CHINESE in Taiwan has contact details published by ICANN

Vicky Tu Tel: +886 2 2531 9196
Email: foreign@net-chinese.com.tw

This registrar has signed the Registrar Accreditation Agreement with ICANN - The 2009 RAA provides enhanced protections for registrants and an increased level of accountability for registrars. Prospective registrants may want to take this fact into account when selecting a registrar for their gTLD name(s).

Before selecting a registrar, customers should consider the company's reputation for honesty and integrity. As of May/June 2010, NET-CHINESE of Taiwan has been a consistent sponsor of illegal software piracy domain names. Despite being notified of this continual abuse of their service by criminals, they have refused to cancel their service contracts for domain registrations.

They have even referred complainants to the web site hoster, even though it is clear that the hoster is the criminal, and will pay no attention to complaints.

[edit] How to report this spam

[edit] Option 1 - Complainterator

Report the name servers to the registrar using Complainterator. No reputable company in the People's Republic of China or Taiwan supports software piracy.

[edit] Option 2 - BSA

But more importantly, remember that this is a flagrant software piracy operation. You can

  1. shut down the whole operation
  2. provide evidence leading to the arrest of the criminals

Follow these steps

  1. Open the pirate site, and note down a selection of software vendor names and software titles being pirated
  2. Visit the Business Software Alliance web site
  3. Select "Report Software Piracy"
  4. Fill in your contact details
  5. Fill in the matching software vendors and software titles in the reporting form
  6. Send it off and feel better

[edit] Option 3 - list of report sites

JavaWoman's list of email reporting addresses, by vendor, for software piracy is an excellent resource. Some examples are shown here ready to be copied into an email cc list:

Vendor addresses

piracy@apple.com, piracy@autodesk.com, reportpiracy@borland.com, nopiracy@corel.com, tip@macromedia.com, piracy@microsoft.com, piracy@symantec.com

[edit] Related spams

Personal tools